MIM Life Series: Internships and Future Career for MIM International Students

By Linda Quach

My name is Linda Quach and I come from Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam. In this blog, I am going to share my personal story in how I ended up choosing MIM for my graduate degree, what am I doing right now and what my plan is after graduation in terms of being an international student.

Linda with Ma Weihua, a famous Chinese calligrapher during the China-Oregon conference. She received a scholarship from PSU Confucius Institute of which Master Ma is one of the donors.

Linda with Ma Weihua, a famous Chinese calligrapher during the China-Oregon conference. She received a scholarship from PSU Confucius Institute of which Master Ma is one of the donors.

I was born in  family with a strong business background, so I was always fascinated to learn about the business world since I was very little. I had a chance to come to the United States to study, and I earned my Bachelor’s Degree in Business Management in 2013 from Oregon State University. My initial plan was to go home right after I graduated and start looking for jobs in Vietnam. However, we can always change the plan. My interests in supply chain motivated me to go further, and I chose MIM because it is a perfect combination of international management, a specialization in supply chain, and Chinese. The Dean of Business School in my previous university recommended me to PSU, and I am very happy about the choice that I made.

I am now doing an internship for a web design and software provider company located in Downtown Portland. Honestly, it was hard for an international student to find internships/jobs and get hired. However, I think if we are willing to commit putting time and efforts, we could get it. I spent almost two months looking for an internship. I went to PSU career services website everyday, attended networking events, joined the mentor program, career roundtables, and the career fair. I know we hear these all the time, and they don’t work for some people. Rather than directly being offered a job, I think we go to those events to make connections, get to know more people, build relationships, ask for advice. The most important thing from these events is keeping in touch later on with the new connections that we made during the events. If we go home and do nothing, we will get nothing. Those are pieces of my advice and I hope they help. As graduation is getting close, I hope everyone in my cohort will come out as a strong candidates for the jobs they want to do.

My plan after graduation is to take a short break to travel and then find jobs in the United States, especially Portland. I’d love to run my own business later on, and it would be exciting if I can have my fellow MIM-ers as partners. We all go find jobs and work for others, but why don’t we get together and work for ourselves.

Leave a comment

Filed under MIM Survival Guide, Student Life

Leave a Reply

