Welcome New MIM Ambassador Juli Tejadilla

This week we say farewell to MIM Ambassador Susan Forrester as she embarks on an internship opportunity, and welcome a new MIM Ambassador,  Juli Tejadilla . Here Juli shares a little about her background and reasons for choosing to study in the Master of International Management program.

I’ve held many titles in my life from student to traveler, dancer, choreographer, artist, graphic designer, and marketing strategist. Growing up in Beaverton, Oregon, I had an incredible amount of support for my creative activities, but always held an interest in how the world works. Throughout high school and undergraduate college I took classes in physics, philosophy, art history, music, economics, and general business. I found that the more I studied, the more these subjects interrelated in unique combinations and they all worked under some type of system. In order to put ideas in motion, an organization was required similar to a business model, therefore I decided to focus my undergraduate studies in business.

179285_1780173911548_1366628_n

Finding my way in Buenos Aires with classmates.

I graduated from Linfield College in 2012 with a Bachelor of Arts in both Business Marketing and in Studio Art. During my collegiate life I was able to study ecotourism in Argentina, develop an Integrated Brand Promotions plan for an entrepreneur in the tea industry, and display my artwork in the Linfield College Fine Art Gallery.  Although I am grateful for all the knowledge my undergraduate degrees granted me, I had little idea of how to break into the “real world.” Close to the time I realized this, I was taking a class in International Marketing. I was enthralled by the subject, particularly in the cultural intricacies involved in international communications and strategies. While sifting through MBA programs and advertising schools, I stumbled upon PSU’s MIM program and was immediately impressed by three factors.

69672_10151769387361258_690505247_n

Touring Hino Motors with fellow Thai classmate “O” Techahusdin.

First, that the program included a 3-4 week Asia Tour wherein students meet with representatives from multinational companies and tour local factories. My travels had previously taken me to Western Europe, Central and South America, and to Australia and New Zealand, but I had always dreamed of going to Asia, particularly to Japan. The second aspect I was drawn to was the multiple panels and networking opportunities provided by the business school, which aid students in gaining knowledge about industries, careers, and local and international leaders.  Third was the opportunity to study Chinese with an emphasis on business vocabulary.

Nearing my third term in the program, I’m confident that I made the right choice in continuing my education here. The insights we are gaining from our classes and experiences are invaluable, and I immensely enjoy the opportunity to work with students from around the world. As the new MIM Ambassador I’m excited to be representing this program and I hope that my content will provide helpful insights about MIM student life and international business.

Juli Tejadilla

juli

  Juli Tejadilla is a full-time student in the Masters of International Management program. She previously graduated with two Bachelor of Arts in Marketing and Studio Art from Linfield College. While her interest in international business began as an undergraduate student, she has been traveling around the world since she was nine months old. She hopes through the MIM program to learn key insights to conduct business internationally and to establish herself as a global citizen.

Leave a comment

Filed under Juli's Entries

Leave a Reply

