Spotlight on MIM Alumni: Patrick Dedrick

Name: Patrick Dedrick
Company: Oracle
Company/Job Location: Hillsboro, OR
Current Job Title: Supply Chain Analyst
Duration with Current Company/Current Position: Six months
MIM Graduation Date: December 2010

Patrick Dedrick, MIM 2010 Alumni and Supply Chain Analyst at Oracle in Hillsboro, Oregon


MIM: How did you find your job and what was the job search process like?
 

PD: A manager from a previous job was working at Oracle, and knew that I would be finishing MIM around the time that his group would be hiring, so, he gave me information on a few job postings, and suggested I apply. This process started in August [2010], and I was finally brought on at the end of December [2010]. However, I started my job search process in June [2010]. Right before starting at Oracle in December, I worked briefly at CEVA Logistics, in a position that I was referred to by a professor of one of the summer specialization courses. In all, it took five months of active job searching to find one that I got hired for, and six months to get the job [at Oracle] that I have now. It is my firm belief that the only reason that I got either of these jobs is because of the network that I had developed.

MIM: What was your interview process like?

PD: For Oracle, I had a three-part interview process: an initial in-person screen, a presentation, and a panel interview. The first screening was a less formal interview that was used to gauge my potential fit with the company against information and details from my resume. The presentation portion of the interview came a couple weeks later, in which I was asked to choose one topic from a list of six related to supply chain, and prepare a 10-15 minute presentation to give to a small group of employees. The final panel interview was comprised of a group of five potential peers and supervisors, which acted primarily as a behavioral test of personality-fit. By far, the most stressful, and most beneficial portion of the interview was the presentation – it translated the presentation skills emphasized in the [MIM] program to a real work-environment.

MIM: Is your current job in line with your previous work experience or is this a career change?

PD: I was very new to the “working world,” and had only about a year between undergrad and the MIM program. I spent some time in the wine industry, where I had some information exposure to supply chain, but I would consider my career to have started after MIM. Coming into the MIM program, I had no idea what I wanted to do afterwards – prior to actually starting the program, I had seriously considered pursuing each of the specializations EXCEPT for supply chain. It was only after the Asia Trip, and seeing facets of supply chain up close and personal that I knew that I wanted to start a career down that path.

MIM: How do you think the MIM program helped you get your job?

PD: Concerning the job application process, I believe that the MIM program, and the school of business provide ample opportunities that can make a resume attractive to potential employers. I also think that the school of business allows for great networking opportunities, which I firmly believe are the most effective key to getting a job. Concerning networking, it is my belief that quality outweighs quantity in job prospect-value – solidly connecting with a couple individuals can pay off much more substantially than collecting a hundred business cards, in my experience.

MIM: What is your job like on a daily basis?

PD: I work with external manufacturers to procure customized material for integration at Oracle’s Hillsboro manufacturing plant. This means I spend a lot of time on conference calls and coordinating with materials planners to make sure that material gets shipped on time. 

MIM: What is a typical day for you like at work?

PD: Typically, I start work between 7:30 and 8:00 a.m., and have a conference call at 9:00 a.m. Between 9:00 a.m. and 2:00 p.m. I take care of urgent short-term issues with planners and work to figure out new material that I have to order for that day, with lunch somewhere in between. To deal with current issues, there is a daily 2:00 p.m. meeting for all members of the group I work in. 3:00–5:00 p.m. is spent placing orders and updating material that is posted for reference by coworkers.

MIM: What do you really love most about your job/position or company?

PD: Currently, I love that I can learn something new every day at my job. There is so much to learn about the company and the industry that there is never a dull moment. This is only enhanced by the quality of the people that I work with. They are all passionate, and incredibly competent individuals that are willing to share their experiences and knowledge with a newcomer to their company and industry.

MIM: What do you hope for your future career plans?

PD: I am really enjoying the procurement field – I hope that it can lead to a position abroad, either for a long-term-ish expat posting, or at least for semi-frequent travel to suppliers.

MIM: What do you think is your most valuable take-away from the MIM program?

PD: The diversity of people that you get to work with in the MIM program was, for me, the most valuable take-away. Having not spent much time in the work-world, it was a huge advantage to gain some exposure to a variety of personalities and working styles.

MIM: What is your favorite memory of the MIM program?

PD: Like everyone else, the Asia Trip was my favorite memory from the MIM program – specifically the week following the formal trip. I had the opportunity to visit Malaysia with a group of MIM-colleagues, and it was the perfect way to continue my first-hand, intercultural experience. 🙂

MIM: What advice can you provide to current and future MIM students?

PD: Stay in touch with your MIM cohort – you don’t realize how important those relationships are until everyone goes back home to their respective countries… plus, all the networking that you hear about starts with your cohort!

Hello MIM Alumni: If you are interested in in being interviewed for the MIM blog we would love to hear from you and hear about your new career! Please email us ataskmim@pdx.edu.

1 Comment

Filed under Ali's Entries, Alumni, Asia Trip, Careers, MIM Specializations, Networking

One response to “Spotlight on MIM Alumni: Patrick Dedrick

Leave a Reply

