The Korean Conundrum

Tonight we’ll hear from a current US diplomat who has spent much of his career in Asia.  Joe Yun has served at US embassies in Korea, Indonesia, Hong Kong, Thailand and even France.  Joe is ethnically Korea which gives him additional perspective on North-South Korean issues.  He’ll be speaking tonight about some of the salient issues on the Korean peninsula.  Anyone interested in Asia should be paying attention to developments here, as they are so intertwined with the region across history, politics, economics, geography and even security.

It’s also became a really important topic for me after I spent some time living in Seoul.  It is an overwhelmingly complicated issue with so many facets.  That’s part of what I find so intriguing.  Usually history is somewhat instructive of the future; good global citizens can use the past to help explain current behaviors or even venture to guess what might happen in the short term.  I’m not so sure that is possible when it comes to North Korea.  It’s just that unpredictable .

I’ll have more to say after Joe’s talk, but for now, you might want to read a few of my favorite blogs covering Korean issues:

http://www.nkeconwatch.com/
http://freekorea.us/

It is notoriously difficult to find reliable information about North Korea, but these two sites have been at it for a number of years, and often link to other media sources.

4 Comments

Filed under Age of the Pacific Lecture Series

4 responses to “The Korean Conundrum

  1. Ahaa, its nice dialogue about this piece of writing here
    at this webpage, I have read all that, so at this time me also commenting here.

  2. I feel this is among the so much significant information for me.
    And i am satisfied reading your article. But want to commentary
    on some basic issues, The web site style is great, the articles is truly nice : D.
    Good process, cheers

  3. It is appropriate time to make some plans for the future and it’s time to
    be happy. I’ve read this post and if I could
    I wish to suggest you some interesting things or tips.
    Maybe you could write next articles referring to this article.
    I desire to read more things about it!

  4. My relatives all the time say that I am killing my
    time here at net, but I know I am getting knowledge daily by reading
    thes pleasant content.

Leave a Reply

