An Introduction

My name is Austin, and I am one of the MIM student ambassadors for the class of 2010!

I decided to apply to the MIM program after spending 2 years teaching English in Seoul, South Korea.  It was my first up close and personal experience with Asia, and it was infectious!  My time in Asia exposed me to the global world we live in. I left knowing that I wanted to engage the world, and be a true international citizen.  But my background was in education; I even taught elementary school for 2 years in Maryland before heading to Korea.  I knew that I needed to learn some new things, and expand my skill set.  So, I began searching for graduate programs that fit my new-found identity.  Portland State’s MIM program was perfect.  It had an ideal package:

  • Intense language study (something I really love)
  • Centered on the Asian marketplace (something I had grown to love)
  • A business degree that is global to the core (our cohort is 46% international)
  • Strong focus on developing intercultural skills.

Also, being in a great city like Portland made it all the more attractive!

Patrick, Adam and I will each be blogging here once a week to share some insight and stories.  We hope that you will get a feel for what it’s like to be a MIM student.  Please feel free to ask questions in the comments, or send us an e-mail at askmim@pdx.edu.

Leave a comment

Filed under Austin's Entries, Student Life

Leave a Reply

